Who Has Not Signed the Paris Agreement

The Paris Agreement, signed in 2015, is a global agreement to combat climate change by reducing greenhouse gas emissions. More than 190 countries have signed the agreement, but there are still a few who have not.

The United States, under former President Donald Trump, withdrew from the agreement in 2020. However, new President Joe Biden has signed an executive order to rejoin the agreement. This move has been welcomed by other nations and climate activists worldwide.

Syria signed the agreement in 2017, leaving only one nation that has not yet signed: Nicaragua. While the Central American nation has been vocal about its commitment to fighting climate change, it has not yet joined the Paris Agreement. The government has cited concerns about the agreement`s weakness and lack of enforceability as reasons for not signing.

Some experts argue that Nicaragua`s decision not to sign could affect the success of the agreement. Despite being a relatively small nation, Nicaragua is a significant contributor to global carbon emissions. Without its commitment to reducing emissions, the goals of the Paris Agreement could be harder to achieve.

In conclusion, while most nations have signed the Paris Agreement, there are still a few holdouts. The recent decision by the United States to rejoin the agreement could inspire other nations to do the same. Nicaragua, the only nation that has not yet signed, has expressed concerns about the agreement`s effectiveness. Its decision not to sign could hinder global efforts to combat climate change and achieve the Paris Agreement`s goals.

This entry was posted in Non classé. Bookmark the permalink.
prochain tour -